Jump to content

National Autism Network

Join Today for FREE!

Look here for additional resources. Go to resources

National Institute of Health (NIH)

The National Institute of Health (NIH) is one of the world’s leaders in medical research. Headquartered in Bethesda, Maryland, the NIH is an agency of the United States Department of Health and is currently comprised of 27 separate institutions and centers. 16 of the 27 centers and institutions that comprise the National Institute of Health have been awarded research grants related to autism spectrum disorders (ASDs). Below is a list of the centers and institutions that have been awarded research grants pertaining to ASD.

To learn more about specific grants available and awarded, please click on the appropriate institution/center.

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health & Human Development (NICHD)

National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities (NCBDDD)

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM)

National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI)

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)

National Institute of General Medical Science (NIGMS)

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)

National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)

National Institute of of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB)